I’m easily annoyed when things aren’t spelled properly. Unfortunately, I’ve no idea how to spell macarons/macaroons. When I see the word “macaroons” I immediately think of the somewhat dense and overly sweet coconut cookies that are often half-dipped in chocolate. That’s not what this post is about…

After reading a number of blogs that talk about les macarons, and learning about Laduree while reading The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery (my new favourite book!), I just had to try out a recipe for macarons…

Every blog/website/etc I looked at espoused a variety of techniques, tricks, and claimed the macaron to be the most difficult of all things to bake!

I felt challenged. Seriously. My bakery masculinity was put into question. Turns out, macarons are no serious threat. Check ’em out:

YUM! This has to be my favouritest photo ever. I just really like it!

The macarons (from left to right) are:

Rasbperry, with ganache and raspberry filling, and

Chocolate, with ganache and caramel filling.

 The recipe I used was:

1 cup powdered sugar

1/2 cup ground almonds

3 tbsp cocoa powder (or 3 additional tbsp of ground almonds, if you’re not making the chocolate macarons)

2 egg whites

5 tbsp granulated sugar

Blend the cocoa, powdered sugar, and ground almonds together so they are very fine. Beat the eggs whites to medium stiff consistency, then slowly add the granulated sugar, while beating, until stiff consistency. VERY CAREFULLY fold in the cocoa mixture, being careful not to overfold. Scoop the entire mixture into a piping bag with a #12 tip. Spray two baking sheets with water, then line with parchment paper. Carefully trace 1.5″ diameter circles all over the paper, and pipe the mixture until it fills each circle. Bake at 375 F for 15-18 minutes, then let them cool completely before removing from baking sheet.

Sandwich the cookies with jam, caramel, or ganache, and let them sit for a day (covered), if at all possible. The flavours really mature after a day, and the texture is much better if they sit and rest!

Trust me, they were very, very good. And for the lucky few who got to taste them, well they keep telling me they want more! I’m hoping to create some new flavours in the future; cardamom vanilla, basil lemon, orange, pistachio, green tea, etc…. help me out by giving me some flavour ideas!

