For whatever reason, I’m not too interested in the holidays. Maybe it’s the economy, and the fact that I have no money to partake in the typical capitalistic gift exchange (sorry, friends of mine, but you’re all getting cheesy home-made gifts… enjoy!)

So, now that the obligatory holiday parties are coming up, it seems only fitting that I get excited for the holidays the only way I know how: BAKING! More importantly, DECORATING!

The cupcakes were made for a holiday party I didn’t even go to. Still, it was a good chance to make some adorable penguins, snowmen, and presents for the tops of the cupcakes. The cupcakes were maple walnut cake with maple buttercream frosting, and chocolate cake with peppermint buttercream frosting.

I had a lot of fun practising making these little figures, but it certainly was stressful, because I didn’t allow myself enough time to make everything. I felt like I was rushing.

One curious thing to note is the above photo. The penguin on the far right looks especially shifty (if not a bit cross-eyed). Everytime I look at this photo I can’t help but think:

“the little guy is plotting something… I just know it!”

