It’s fun to find inspiration in the most amazing places. I was recently in Tacoma (and if by recent, I mean, several weeks ago). Anyways, walking around the city, I stumbled upon the Chihuly Museum of Glass. The museum was HIGHLY entertaining, but honestly, the best part was the free Bridge of Glass. It wasn’t what I expected… the bridge is not a bridge made entirely of glass (that would probably be a bad idea), but had display cases of some glass sculptures all along the walkway. Pretty much breathtaking… I’m in awe at the talent of some people….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here are some close-up shots of some of the sculptures I found particularly interesting:

 

 

 

 

 

 

After spending a little bit of time at the Notter School of Pastry Arts, and seeing the students there practice with blown and pulled sugar, I can’t help but wonder what is possible! Certainly sculptures of this magnitude are possible, but it must take an expert hand to craft something this amazing.  Maybe one day I’ll get the guts to try something like this (in sugar, of course). Until then, I’ll have to be amazed and inspired by the motifs in these sculptures that I could adapt for cakes.

NOW I JUST NEED PEOPLE TO ORDER SOME CAKES! =)

