I had a great lesson yesterday in photography. My good friend Shawn was able to help me out with a LOT of the problems I’ve had with my digital camera lately. The main problem being that I have no idea what I’m doing! =)

It’s a “point and shoot” so that’s what I thought I had to do! I didn’t know there was all this mumbo-jumbo about ISO, F-stop, film speed (which is apparently ISO, but is different on a digicam), lighting, exposure settings, etc… after several hours of repeating what ISO means I think I have the most basic handle on photography. I took some test photos of some gumpaste hydrangeas I made weeks ago. Here are some of the photos:

ISO 80, F2.8, 1" Exposure +1

ISO 80, F2.8, 1" exposure, digital macro

ISO 80, F2.8, 1" Exposure +1

ISO 80, F2.8, 1" exposure, digital macro

ISO 100, F2.8, 1"6 Exposure, Manual setting

ISO 100, F2.8, 1"6 Exposure, Manual Macro

And here’s a rose I did for a bouqet last week. I’ll post photos of the full bouqet as soon as I take them with my newfound knowledge and passion for photography!
ISO 800, F2.8, 1/25 exposure, digital macro

ISO 800, F2.8, 1/25 exposure, digital macro

