I woke up to a windy, cold, rainy, and otherwise nasty weekend. The only motivation for me to get out of bed was to bake something warm, full of fruit, and, for a change, with minimal sugar. Blueberry and peach galettes with a multi-grain pate brisee was perfect!

 

Multi-grain Pate Brisee

1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup oats
2 tsp sugar (only 2!)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
6 tbsp cold butter, cut into pieces
1/2 cup milk

Combine all ingredients except the oats and milk in a food processor. Pulse to blend. Add milk, just until the mixture comes together. On a clean surface, spread out the oats. Quickly and gently knead the oats into the tart dough. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for about an hour.

Blueberry filling
1 1/4 cup blueberries (I used frozen, because it’s winter here)
1 tbsp corn starch
2 teaspoons sugar
1 tsp lemon juice

Peach filling
1 1/4 cup peaches, chopped (again, I used frozen fruit)
1 tbsp cornstarch
2 tsp sugar
1 tsp lemon juice
1 1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp cinnamon

Split the tart dough in half, and roll each into a circle, roughly 1/4″ thick. Place fruit mixture into the center of the dough (you can mix the fruits, if you want!) and fold up the tart dough. It will not cover the fruit, but will have many folds.
Brush with an egg wash (one egg plus one yolk with a pinch of salt), dust with cinnamon and sugar, and bake at 350 F until golden and crisp. Eat warm, or wrap in plastic wrap and save for later. The galettes will be good for 2-3 days only.

I’m pretty happy with these photos! I think they are my best food photography yet. Any thoughts or comments? Anything I should change? Is it obvious that I boosted the saturation and contrast a bit? Probably… but I think it looks tasty! Anything to make (frozen) peaches brighter and juicier can’t be bad, right? =)

Natural lighting ROCKS! Except for some of the shadows caused by the huge freakin’ pine tree in front of my window… it might become a problem when it fills out and blocks all the sunlight!

